Larynn Cutshaw: Personal Introduction

January 18, 2016

My name is Larynn Cutshaw and I am a junior Environmental Studies, Zoology, and Politics & Government triple major. I hope to have a career in the field of Environmental Policy, specifically in the area of coastal and marine policy. I plan on continuing my education in a Master’s International program where I will complete two years of service in the Peace Corps.

At OWU, I am involved in Delta Zeta Sorority and the president of Active Minds, Ohio Wesleyan Chapter. Furthermore, I am actively involved in research through the zoology and microbiology departments. I have been awarded two Theory to Practice Grants to support my research efforts. With these grants, I have been given the opportunity to spend two summers in Australia. The first trip (last summer) I spent six weeks in the Melbourne area collecting data for an independent project on the microbes in bird plumage. This summer, I will return to Oz for an eight-week internship with a non-profit conservation group for Tasmanian Devils.


Personal Introduction by Thomas Finke

January 17, 2016

I am currently a senior at Ohio Wesleyan University and majoring in history. I played football here at Ohio Wesleyan for three years. I grew up in Newark, Ohio which is about an hour Southeast of Columbus. I went to high school at Licking Valley, where I played football and wrestled. After college I plan to work for the FBI or DEA. One day I would love to live on a farm in Tennessee. worth-road-farm-sevier-county-tennessee-large.jpg


Todd D’Andrea Personal Introduction

January 15, 2016

I am a senior here at Ohio Wesleyan majoring in Geography; more specifically GIS and Remote Sensing.  I enjoy studying and analyzing various maps and satellite images in order to discover patterns or solve problems.

I am looking forward to reading “Desert Solitaire” by Edward Abbey.  One day I hope to move to the Southwest.  I spent time while in the military in Arizona, and was able to experience the majestic and awesome power of the landscape.  I was stationed in a place called Ft. Huachuca, Arizona; South of Tucson in a town called Sierra Vista.  The early mornings outside were incredible.  During the early morning hours of any given morning, meteor showers could be viewed with relative ease.  It was as if you had a window to something bigger than yourself.

Ft. Huachuca, AZ. (Source: Arizonaexperience.org)


Shannon Schlater’s Personal Introduction

January 15, 2016

I am a junior, zoology major here at OWU. I am on the OWU volleyball team and pretty much spend most of my free time playing, physically preparing for, or coaching volleyball. I also spend a lot of my time obsessing over what’s happening in the world of animals. I’m one of those people that only have social media so I can watch cute animal videos or get  really mad at politicians who decide they can kidnap baby elephants from the wild.
I’ve done a couple pretty cool internships that I can’t help but brag about. First, I spent 10 weeks in South Africa at The Rhino Orphanage 🙂 I got to be a surrogate mother to about 11 baby rhinos, most of which lost their moms to poaching. 20140616_104347000_iOS
Nyani, our spoiled little girl, is a white rhino on the left and Shaka, who is scared of his own shadow, is a black rhino on the right. (Notice the differences in their mouths; white rhinos are grazers and have flat mouths, and black rhinos are browsers so they have prehensile lips, which look like a V, so they can grab leaves and branches).
I have also interned at Possumwood Acres Wildlife Sanctuary in North Carolina where I helped rehabilitate a lot of different species. This involved giving medication, cutting dead mice up for our raptors, and sticking my hand in a bag of hundreds of meal worms, glamorous, I know.20150613_114039
Above I am holding a screech owl, which in my opinion are the cutest species we took in while I was there.
So, as you can tell I have a future working with animals.  I can’t sit still very long, so a job with long hours, a lot of walking, and protecting any and all species sounds good to me.

 


Amanda Marshall: Personal Introduction

January 13, 2016

“There are some who can live without wild things, and some who cannot” – Aldo Leopold

  • I consider myself one who cannot
  • blog pic

I am currently a Senior at Ohio Wesleyan, majoring in Zoology and minoring in Environmental Studies. I live in an apartment off campus with a dog, two kittens and a quaker parrot. I grew up in Dayton Ohio and transferred to OWU from Sinclair Community College. I have been obsessed with the outdoors ever since I could walk. My ultimate goal is to work at a sanctuary for retired medical primates or study wolves at Yellowstone. …or win the lottery and travel the world. That would be nice too. My heroes are Jane Goodall and Randy Pausch. I got to meet Jane at a lecture in 2012. She signed my tattered copy of her book  Reason for Hope while I hyperventilated and forgot my carefully rehearsed speech that I was going to to her. Randy Pausch became influential in my life after I was diagnosed with type one diabetes in 2011. His book and internet video/ The Last Lecture is something I urge any human being to watch and read.

Over the summer I spent a month in South Africa on a Tippit Grant. While there I helped conduct wildlife research on the Big 5 at the Karongwe Game Reserve. The trip consisted of almost dying in a car crash, elephants chasing our vehicle, watching leopards, running after a hunting cheetah, roasting impala over a fire and seeing a lot of lion sex. Going to Africa is a childhood dream of mine. Waking up at 4:30 every morning for game drives, having minimal electricity and water, and living in a house infested with bats was the best four weeks of my life. I feel as if part of my heart will always belong to Africa.

I am interested in learning more about the environment and current environmental issues that we face. I am a huge book nerd and am looking forward to adding the readings from this class to my plethora of bookshelves.

~Amanda Marshall~

 


Hey this is a little about Me

September 2, 2015

So a little about me,

I am a senior at OWU and i am a member of the track and field team.

I am a Geology and Environmental Studies Major with a minor in geography

I am very outdoor related and like to go fishing and camping and other outdoor activities!!

Some of the things i am looking forward to take from this class a good discussions  about nature and how we interact with it and deal with current issues in a non bias manner.  I want my class mates to think out side there normal views and look at the situation from both sides since both sides most of the time are good in different ways and not always bad.  Also who knows what is truly good or bad???

Looking forward to some great discussions in class.

Zach


Personal Introduction

September 1, 2015

My name is Peter John Beach but my friends and people who know me call me PJ. I am a senior who has been at OWU for four years. I play on the lacrosse team and my number is 10. I live in a house behind the library on Park av with 3 other guys on the lacrosse team. I grew up in New York and love the east coast and being on the water.

some interesting facts about me 

  • I have a blue 4 door jeep wrangler
  • I have one younger sister who goes to Fairfield
  • I love watching Netflix and HBO GO
  • I am a management economics major
  • Long Island NY is my favorite place in the world.

I look forward to this whole semester with this class and Dr. Krygiers jokes.