Ensuring Cruelty

Eating Animals

 

This book basically expansively dives into all the reasons why I am an animal Throughout the book I kept catching myself exclaiming “yes!”, “exactly”, and/or “same”. There was very little in this book that I disagreed with. I want everyone to read this book if they want to understand why I think animals should have rights. However not everyone will have the privilege to read this book, here are some main points that I find important:

  1. “If nothing matters, there is nothing to save”

This is one of the many things in this book that broke my heart. This quote form Jonathan Saran Foer’s World Wars ridden grandmother hark on the knowledge we know, but choose to immorally ignore. To me, this quote could be turned into a motto for my activism. The reason behind my strain to do the right thing in regards of purchasing food and products. I go out of my way to ensure I am not eliciting overlooked and overfunded animal cruelty when I purchase anything (food, makeup, toiletries, gifts etc.). It might be inconvenient for me and annoying to some, but to me, I am living the life I would want everyone else would. Even though I am not starving like Foer’s grandmother was when she refused pork that was not Kosher, but I can embody some that same commitment to a moral standing. I put my convenience on the back burner if it means it lessens the suffering of animals

 

  1. It is the fact these practices in animal cruelty can be avoided.

To me, it is not a matter of people not knowing, it’s a matter of not caring or avoiding this torture. I think most people fall in the latter when it is between the two.  Foer makes the argument (more toward the end) that knowing this information and thinking it is wrong, but continue to support it is irrational and cruel. I agree, but I’ve learned that the only thing I can do is be an example for others to look up to and be a source of information. This book has reiterated the heartbreak and irrevocable anger I sometimes have towards human overconsumption. I had to put this book many times due to sadness and anger I felt toward the meat industry. Fortunately, all the hard hitting facts and personal anecdotes were all thrown together in a neatly written way and well understood from someone other than myself. I have felt alone in this battle of human vs. animal, but books and stories like this reassure me I am not alone, but I am still few.

 

  1. Animals cannot give consent

That’s all.

 

I have more to say, but withhold until I lead discussion

 

 

Current Event: https://www.nytimes.com/2017/02/13/well/eat/got-almond-milk-dairy-farms-protest-milk-label-on-nondairy-drinks.html?rref=collection%2Ftimestopic%2FCruelty%20to%20Animals&action=click&contentCollection=timestopics&region=stream&module=stream_unit&version=latest&contentPlacement=6&pgtype=collection

 

Basically, the dairy industry wants to claim the word “milk”. This article dives into the recent spike in cow’s milk alternatives and the reasons why. It also argues that the dairy industry is being petty and assumes it has bigger issues than a name claim.

Leave a Reply

