Garbage Matters

In light of the approaching OWU Mock Convention, I have been preparing for my duties as a delegate of New York by researching current issues. Most recently, I have explored the waste problem of New York, specifically, NYC. I have found that it is estimated that up to 36,200 tons of garbage is produced daily in the city (twice as much as any other city in the world). With the closing of a main landfill on Staten Island, the garbage must now be transported by truck or barge to other landfills, doubling the cost of sanitation services and making an already environmentally un-friendly problem worse.

As I completed this research, I began to look at garbage in a whole new light – as a social entity with enormous political and economic pressures. After this, I was able to read Moore’s article with a different perspective than I may have had before I became acquainted with the waste problems of New York.

Moore presents the complexities of garbage in her article, particularly in the figure. Here, she brings in the different relationships of people and waste and addresses the social foundations of these relationships, explaining the interconnectedness of it all. I enjoyed the way in which Moore looks at waste as both physical, tangible objects as well as abstract, theoretical ideas. This further illustrates the complexities associated with waste as we must learn to manage and value the physical objects left as waste as well as the perceptions and ideologies associated with waste.

Overall, I both enjoyed and resented this article. I enjoyed it in the sense that I appreciated the subject and Moore’s views on the matter. I thought she presented a well-informed, unprecedented examination of waste in society. Furthermore, I was appealed to the way she organized the figure and paper for ease of reading and clarity. However, I did not enjoy the read holistically. Moore has a unique writing style that I felt was boring and overwhelming in places. I felt this article was a “try-too-hard” piece that falls flat to the audience in which the article should appeal to.

One Response to Garbage Matters

Leave a Reply

