Garbage Matters

– Lonnie Barnes

This article was an interesting read – I’ve never thought about waste in so many different ways. When I first looked at the two axes, I was a slightly confused about the difference between all of the definitions of waste presented on them. As I read on, however, I started to see how it is possible to differentiate between some kinds of waste. I was still left a little perplexed by the placement of a few of the definitions, such as waste as a resource or commodity. I struggled to understand how exactly these two conceptions of waste can be considered to be in the “dualist” category, or separate from society.

My favorite conception was that of waste as an archive – this conception proposes that we can use a society’s waste to better understand not a society of the past, but of the present.

Leave a Reply

