Introduction: Lonnie Barnes

I’m a senior geography major with a minor in Spanish. Within geography, I’m most interested in GIS/remote sensing. I’ve been working on a research project that studies the relationship between socioeconomic inequality and urban heat island intensity in Chicago. I currently plan on attending grad school next year and expanding this project. At OWU, I am involved in Phi Gamma Delta, and was on the men’s soccer team for four years.

I live in Champaign, Illinois, though I lived in Cape Town, Soth Africa until I was 14. I grew up surrounded by a diverse environment – mountains, oceans, beaches, indigenous plants, and now I live in the boring old midwest. As is much of this part of the world, the landscape of central Illinois is dominated by agriculture. In the case of Champaign, corn fields are the dominant surrounding feature. In the future, I hope to live somewhere slightly more exciting.

Leave a Reply

