Amanda Marshall: Personal Introduction

“There are some who can live without wild things, and some who cannot” – Aldo Leopold

  • I consider myself one who cannot
  • blog pic

I am currently a Senior at Ohio Wesleyan, majoring in Zoology and minoring in Environmental Studies. I live in an apartment off campus with a dog, two kittens and a quaker parrot. I grew up in Dayton Ohio and transferred to OWU from Sinclair Community College. I have been obsessed with the outdoors ever since I could walk. My ultimate goal is to work at a sanctuary for retired medical primates or study wolves at Yellowstone. …or win the lottery and travel the world. That would be nice too. My heroes are Jane Goodall and Randy Pausch. I got to meet Jane at a lecture in 2012. She signed my tattered copy of her book  Reason for Hope while I hyperventilated and forgot my carefully rehearsed speech that I was going to to her. Randy Pausch became influential in my life after I was diagnosed with type one diabetes in 2011. His book and internet video/ The Last Lecture is something I urge any human being to watch and read.

Over the summer I spent a month in South Africa on a Tippit Grant. While there I helped conduct wildlife research on the Big 5 at the Karongwe Game Reserve. The trip consisted of almost dying in a car crash, elephants chasing our vehicle, watching leopards, running after a hunting cheetah, roasting impala over a fire and seeing a lot of lion sex. Going to Africa is a childhood dream of mine. Waking up at 4:30 every morning for game drives, having minimal electricity and water, and living in a house infested with bats was the best four weeks of my life. I feel as if part of my heart will always belong to Africa.

I am interested in learning more about the environment and current environmental issues that we face. I am a huge book nerd and am looking forward to adding the readings from this class to my plethora of bookshelves.

~Amanda Marshall~

 

Leave a Reply

