Bee the Best: A project Update

I am moving steadily along in the planning stages of my project, which is where I have predicted the bulk of the work to be.  One change that I have made throughout this planning process is that I will be constructing bee hotels instead of bee boxes.  This will make it easier to simply give the bees a place to live without excess equipment that I don’t necessarily need.  In addition to this, the bees that will inhabit the bee hotel are solitary bees, which means they don’t defend a hive and don’t produce honey.  After talking with former OWU students it seems as if this is the best route to take because it also lessens the chance that the bees will sting people since they are not defending a hive.  The next phase will be finishing the rough sketches I have mocked up and finding a way to gather materials for the project.

Leave a Reply

