Response to Desert Solitare

For a good chunk of this book, I wasn’t sure what the author was going on about.  He related so many things to such odd stuff, like when he was talking about personifying his surroundings as if it were tied to Medusa and other mythological beings.  His writing style also made it difficult to follow him at times.  I do feel that he glorifies his surroundings a bit too much, like when he refers to the snow on the ground as diamonds.  Then he goes and separates himself from nature to write a letter by turning on his generator and light bulbs?  He confused me by doing that.

One thing I do agree with though, is that he is certainly in a wilderness; Vast, wild, away from civilization, and free to do what he wants there.  I also was able to relate to what he was saying at the end of page 16.  I often times have felt the same when up in Maine at our family cabin on the side of the lake, after staying up longer than I probably should have.  When I got to the chapter Rocks, the geologist in me was happy that I could pronounce a majority of the rocks and minerals he mentioned, and that I knew what they were.  To my sadness, a good chunk of the chapter wasn’t actually about rocks after all, but a story revolving around some uranium miners.

Something that really got my attention later on, was him mentioning that he’d sooner kill a fellow human than a snake.  To me, I feel like it’d depend on the situation.  I would wholeheartedly agree if it was someone threatening my friends or family or something along those lines.  But if it’s the snake doing the same threatening, I would not hesitate to kill the snake.  But if it’s just happening across either the person or snake, I would not harm either unless self-defense is necessary.

Anyway, I found the book overall to be very sidetracked.  Most of what I read was not his doing stuff or information on the environment itself, but of his recalling of stories that happened a while back.  I didn’t even find most of the stories to be that interesting.

Leave a Reply

