My Reflection on “The Meadowlands”

Overall I found this book to be…interesting.  It was tough for me to put myself in the author’s shoes because the way he described this garbage filled swamp was as if it was straight out of his favorite childhood story.  Aside from that though, I had fun reading some sections, and not so much fun with other sections.  I particularly enjoyed the Skeeters chapter, especially when Victor, the “Mosquito King” got bit because the author had left the truck window cracked open.  I also had some parts that I felt I could somewhat relate to.  For instance, on page 15, lines 14-15, says “In the summer, squadrons of dragonflies and mosquitoes patrol the dry land over waves of heat”.  This description reminds me of my summer trips to Maine, and how when fishing out on the lake there are tons of dragonflies that fly around just above the surface of the water, and the masses of mosquitoes that come out at night.  Another sentence that caught my attention was line 32 on page 19.  It mentioned planes waiting to land at La Guardia and JFK airports in New York.  I’ve been on planes going to each of those airports, yet I don’t recall ever looking out my window (I always get the window seat) and seeing the Meadowlands.  There was one question that came to mind when reading, and that was hoe big the Meadowlands are.  It said on page 18 line 3, that the Meadowlands are 32 square miles  of wilderness.  I wonder if that’s large enough for the “official” definition of wilderness, which says that it would have to be 5000 acres to be considered as wilderness?  I also wonder if it’s possible to establish a successful “no dumping” policy at the Meadowlands, so as to keep its condition from worsening?  Also, as mentioned in the Skeeters chapter, I wonder if it’s feasible to actually eliminate entire mosquito populations in a given area?

One Response to My Reflection on “The Meadowlands”

  1. John Krygier says:

    Decent comments – reflect a bit on how the discussion went Wed eve and think about how you can pull out some broader issues for discussion from the readings.

Leave a Reply

