Personal Introduction

Hello, my name is Zanna Wright (also known as that one kid who showed up an hour late to class, ha ha). I am a junior geology major, just because no school in the United States offers Paleontology as an undergraduate major. Sads. I plan on proceeding to graduate school to obtain my PhD in Paleontology, then I want to dig up dinosaur bones for the rest of my life! I love natural history museums and dinosaurs, so I want to work with those when I blossom into the adult world and become a self-sufficient individual with a career.

This is me in Wyoming with my friend, Velma the Velociraptor. We purchased her to celebrate the Wyoming Dinosaur Center's 20th Anniversary. Successfully frightened the pants off seven children.

This is me in Wyoming with my friend, Velma the Velociraptor. We purchased her to celebrate the Wyoming Dinosaur Center’s 20th Anniversary. Successfully frightened the pants off seven children.

Fun facts about me!

  • I was adopted from China when I was 8 months old! I asked my parents if this means that Donald Trump could deport me if he became President, but they told me that I’ve been naturalized, so he can’t. Phew.
  • I. LOVE. CATS. I’m also allergic to them, so that makes for an awkward relationship.
  • I don’t grow armpit hair. I just don’t. It’s extremely convenient.
  • I was originally planning to be an English major! Finding geology was just a stroke of luck; I took GEOL 110 to fulfill a distribution requirement and I loved it.

I am eager to take this class, and am looking forward to this semester! I am excited to hear some new opinions, learn some new things, and be challenged in new ways. One of the best things OWU has done for me has been to change some of my ingrained stereotypes and make me more open to others’ opinions and ways of life, and I want that to keep happening!

Leave a Reply

